Speaker McCarthy

McCarthy names GOP members to serve on politically charged select subcommittees


  • House Speaker Kevin McCarthy announced which Republican members will serve on subcommittees that will investigate the “weaponization” of the federal government and the origins of the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Rep. Jim Jordan, who criticized the alleged politicization of the FBI and the Department of Justice, will lead the new panel on weaponization.
  • Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio) will be the chairman of the COVID-19 committee. 

House Speaker Kevin McCarthy on Tuesday released the names of the Republican lawmakers who will serve on two subcommittees that will investigate the Biden administration. 

In a tweet on Tuesday, McCarthy announced the GOP membership of two select subcommittees on the “Weaponization of the Federal Government” and the origins of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Earlier this month, members of Congress voted along party lines to establish the “Weaponization of the Federal Government” committee to probe ongoing investigations from the Justice Department. McCarthy told his Republican colleagues that the subcommittee will expose the “weaponization of government against our citizenry, writ large.” 

It was part of a list of demands that hard-right Republicans asked McCarthy to give their support for his Speakership. 

McCarthy vowed to create both the weaponization and COVID-19 origins subcommittees two days ahead of the Speaker vote.

Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), who serves as the chairman of the House Judiciary Committee, will lead the weaponization subcommittee.

The other GOP members of the committee will be Reps. Darrell Issa (Calif.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Chris Stewart (Utah), Elise Stefanik (N.Y.), Mike Johnson (La.), Chip Roy (Texas), Kelly Armstrong (N.D.), Greg Steube (Fla.), Dan Bishop (N.C.), Kat Cammack (Fla.) and Harriet Hageman (Wyo.).  

Roy and Bishop withheld their support for McCarthy through more than 10 ballots of the Speaker vote before switching to back him after McCarthy agreed to additional concessions. 

Last week, McCarthy said that Steube will serve on the weaponization subcommittee following the Florida congressman’s hospitalization after falling off a 25-foot ladder.

Five Democratic members will also join the subcommittee.

Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio) was announced to chair the COVID-19 committee. 

The other GOP members joining the committee will be Reps. Nicole Malliotakis (N.Y.), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (Iowa), Debbie Lesko (Ariz.), Michael Cloud (Texas), John Joyce (Pa.), Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.), Ronny Jackson (Texas) and Rich McCormick (Ga.). 

Cloud opposed McCarthy through most of the Speakership votes until throwing his support behind him for the last few ballots. 

Greene, who was suspended for violating Twitter’s COVID-19 misinformation policies last year, is part of the COVID-19 committee. Her account was restored in November as part of several accounts that new owner and CEO Elon Musk reinstated. 

In December 2022, a Democratic-led House subcommittee released a report on the pandemic, pointing a finger at the Trump administration for harming the nation’s response to the coronavirus.

Source: Politico

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *